April 8, 2009

  • Bad News Bras

    As ecstatic as I was to get my girls high and tight, after three days my back was not quite as into it.  So day three of Adventures in New Undergarments found my back health slowly, yet progressively, deteriorating. By end of business, I was a wreck. I spent the entire weekend rehabbing in old bras and a shelf-bra camisole. It got so bad that I didn’t think I could operate my vehicle safely. (So I didn’t).

     

    Come Monday, the back was feeling better - at least ready to face the day upright at my desk. In a brief Alzheimer’s moment, I put on one of the new bras.  After my 40 minute commute and about an hour into the workday, I wasn’t sure how long I would last.  I promised to stay for a 9 o’clock meeting and see from there.

     

    In a stroke of genius, I remembered my gym bag in the car. Gym Bag = Sports Bra = RELIEF! (and that I made it through the full day at work).

     

    So Sunday was the first chance I’d had to take the offending unmentionables back to their hawkers (Nordstrom). The lovely sales lady who helped me was apologetic and a little perplexed. She tried to figure out who had helped me, so I offered up the name.

     

    “Oh. She’s actually no longer with us.”

     

    Eh? My curiosity was piqued, but I let it go. She brought out a few other models, one of which was so dowdy that it didn’t stand a chance up against the modest v-neck shirt I was sporting. When I explained to the LSL that this was probably one of my more conservatively cut tops, she agreed that this particular model would not do.

     

    The second rig wound up being a nice option, in a Joan Holloway kind of way. Since Fella loves him some Mad Men, albeit for the January Jones portion of the program, I went for it. LSL suggested I wear it home (so I did) and that I take a break the following day (which I also did) and then try it again the day after (lather, rinse, repeat).

     

    Yesterday was the day after and I rocked my Joan Holloway rack all frigging day.  My girls have never seen such heights of perky.And so far, my back has held up.  I'm not sure if I'll try again as soon as tomorrow, but I feel optimistic about this new endeavor.

    Except the price on this new setup is on the verge of obscene. So, we'll see.

Comments (1)

  • If you were at Nordstroms...I am not not suprised at obscene price...I can't afford the dust off the floor there!!!! How are things going with you out in Sunny California?? Any chance of you venturing back our way to finally meet Kieran...the love of my life???
    Happy Easter to you!!!
    Ruth Ann

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment