May 8, 2009

  • Fickle Fella: A Rant

    He sleeps so peacefully on the couch now, but earlier today...his attitude was much less docile.

    I'm going to be tied up through July and won't have a lot of time for my second job of dutiful wife. Fella will be on his own every week night and I am doing what I can to make sure that he will not be left to his own devices. Which means I'm trying to make sure he'll be eating homemade dinners while I'm not home at night to make it. Quite dutiful and wifely of me, I'd say.  But this means a lot of forethought and preparation--a lot of work!--on my part before things start picking up next week.

    All this work and he repays the favor by telling me he's not going to be able to work on any home improvement projects while I'm tied up. Why wouldn't it be the BEST time to work on things around the house? Zesty and her ever-expanding midsection out of your hair every night and a good part of the weekends working her ass off, what more could you ask for?! Norm Abram and his New Yankee Workshop served up on a silver platter?

    Yeah, I guess he could, and quite possibly would, but let's be realistic here. That's like me asking for Chris Kimball and the America's Test Kitchen to take care of Fella's dinner for him. Not gonna happen.

    So I feel gypped. It's not like I made an express request for quid pro quo at home i n exchange for my professional pursuits outside of home. But really. Really??

    Maybe he'll surprise me.

    I'm not holding my breath.

    And after all the attitude Fella gave me on the phone this afternoon over the subject, then for awhile after he got home from work (while I was making dinner, I might add) he thinks he can flip a switch and be lovey and cuddly and I'll be OK with it.

    Sorry fella, I've still got some of that attitude stuck in my craw. But you go on ahead and sleep on the couch and leave me be for awhile.

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment