November 11, 2008

  • Reflections on a Sleepless Night

    I've had two consecutive (not counting the weekend, of course) awful days with work. Somehow it crept into my mind as I laid down to sleep close to 90 minutes ago. I gave up on the tossing and turning thing, cracked at Coors Light and here I am: my (not so) triumphant return.

    I've often wondered, tonight is no exception, how I ended up here. I know there was a reason I went to law school, I just can't seem to remember what it was. Or what delusion I was under when I told myself: "That's  for you, go for it!" More and more I now think, "This is not for me, I don't want any part of it." And in virtually the same breath, I spoke of my plans to take the bar again next year.

    I can't begin to understand myself. The over-achieving-perfectionist-slacker. I think it's the worst combination of traits a personality could have. To put in such effort in the pursuit of perfection, only to neglect a seemingly minor, yet crucial detail that sets the whole plan on a course for destruction.  This is my major malfunction. Work and work and work, only to slack at a pivotal moment. And I just don't get it.

    So I can't help but wonder if there isn't something else out there for me? Something that doesn't trigger that slacker inside to rear its ugly head and spoil the party. Something that I can't use as a set-up for self-destruction.

    So far that only thing that seems to fit the bill is marriage. But I've only been at that endeavor for a month now.

Comments (1)

  • I am so sorry that you are still struggling with that stupid bar exam!!! I can only imagine how frustrating this all must be for you. I wish I had words of wisdom for you...but I dont...I can just pat you on the shoulder and commiserate with you. I can only imagine how frustrating the Bar Exam experience must be...but dont look at Law School as wasted time...learning is NEVER wasted...and besides..if you hadn't come to Topeka you wouldnt have met Dionna...or ME!!!! lol There...now don't you feel better???
    I want to hear all of the details ( and a few pictures please) of the wedding!!!!
    You hang in there....enjoy married life...and be patient...the path that you are supposed to be on will become clear to you...just wait!!
    Ruth Ann

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment